Print this page | Close window
geo.admin.ch
  • Share:
  • Facebook External website. Content opens in new window.
  • Twitter External website. Content opens in new window.
  • Google Bookmarks External website. Content opens in new window.
  • Schliessen

Glossary

Geodata

Geodata (an abbreviated form of geographical (British English) or geographic (US English) data) is spatially referenced data which describes the extent and nature of specific areas and objects at a given epoch, in particular their position, their attributes, their use and their legal status (GeoIG Art.3, para.1, let.a).

Basic geodata

Basic geodata is essential official geodata which describes landscape (topography), property and buildings independently of any specific application. It also forms the basis for the interpretation of specialised geodata. In Switzerland this concept of basic geodata is defined in law as official geodata which is based on a legislative enactment of the Confederation, a Canton or a commune (GeoIG Art.3 para.1 let.c).

Geoservices

Networkable applications which simplify the use of geodata by means of electronic services and make it available in structured form (GeoIG Art.3 para.1 let.j).

Specialised geodata

Specialised geodata on its own, in the absence of basic geodata, is difficult or impossible to interpret because the spatial context is absent. Thematic maps or the corresponding data-sets are examples of the combination of basic and specialised geodata.

Geographical information system GIS

A geographical information system (GIS) is a computer-based information system which encompasses the required hardware, software, data and applications. It can be used to capture and edit spatial data in digital form, to store, process, reorganise, model and analyse it, and to present it graphically or in tabulated textual form.

Metadata

Formal descriptions of the characteristics of geodata, for example of its source, content, structure, validity, currency and accuracy, of rights or restrictions on its use, details of how to access it and applicable methods of processing it (GeoIG Art3. para.1 let.g).

geocat.ch

geocat.ch is the geographical metadata catalogue for Switzerland. Federal Offices, Cantons, communes and private companies record the metadata covering their own geographical data in geocat.ch.

e-geo.ch

Through the establishment of a national spatial data infrastructure, the e-geo.ch programme provides easy and economical access to an optimal selection of available geoinformation.

Web Map Service WMS

A web map service (WMS) is an interface which enables map extracts to be downloaded via the Internet.

Catalog Service for Web CSW

CSW is an Open Geospatial Consortium (OGC) standard for the specification of Internet search and catalogue services. The metadata provided through geocat.ch can be interrogated by means of a CSW interface.
Website External website. Content opens in new window.

Contact: geo.admin.ch
Print this page | Close window

Seite drucken | Fenster schliessen
geo.admin.ch
  • Share:
  • Facebook Externe Seite. Inhalt wird in neuem Fenster geöffnet.
  • Twitter Externe Seite. Inhalt wird in neuem Fenster geöffnet.
  • Google Bookmarks Externe Seite. Inhalt wird in neuem Fenster geöffnet.
  • Schliessen

Glossar

Geodaten

Raumbezogene Daten, die mit einem bestimmten Zeitbezug die Ausdehnung und Eigenschaften bestimmter Räume und Objekte beschreiben, insbesondere deren Lage, Beschaffenheit, Nutzung und Rechtsverhältnisse (GeoIG Art. 3 Abs. 1 lit. a).

Geobasisdaten

Geobasisdaten sind grundlegende amtliche Geodaten, welche die Landschaft (Topografie), die Grundstücke und die Gebäude anwendungsneutral beschreiben. Sie sind auch die Grundlage für die Interpretation von Geofachdaten. In der Schweiz ist der Begriff "Geobasisdaten" gesetzlich definiert als Geodaten, die auf einen Recht setzenden Erlass des Bundes, des Kantons oder einer Gemeinde beruhen (GeoIG Art. 3 Abs. 1 lit.c).

Geodienste

Vernetzbare Anwendungen, welche die Nutzung von elektronischen Dienstleistungen im Bereich der Geodaten vereinfachen und Geodaten in strukturierter Form zugänglich machen (GeoIG Art. 3 Abs. 1 lit. j).

Geofachdaten

Geofachdaten alleine sind ohne Geobasisdaten nicht oder nur schwer interpretierbar, weil der räumliche Kontext fehlt. Thematische Karten oder entsprechende Datensätze sind ein Beispiel für die Kombination von Geobasis- mit Geofachdaten.

Geoinformationssystem GIS

Ein Geoinformationssystem (Kurzform GIS) oder Geografisches Informationssystem ist ein rechnergestütztes Informationssystem, das aus Hardware, Software, Daten und Anwendungen besteht. Mit ihm können raumbezogene Daten digital erfasst und redigiert, gespeichert und reorganisiert, modelliert und analysiert sowie tabellarisch und grafisch präsentiert werden.

Metadaten

Formale Beschreibungen der Merkmale von Geodaten, beispielsweise von Herkunft, Inhalt, Struktur, Gültigkeit, Aktualität, Genauigkeit, Nutzungsrechten, Zugriffsmöglichkeiten oder Bearbeitungsmethoden (GeoIG Art 3. Abs. 1 lit. g).

geocat.ch

geocat.ch ist der geografische Metadatenkatalog der Schweiz. Bundesämter, Kantone, Gemeinden und private Firmen erfassen in geocat.ch ihre Metadaten zu Geodaten.

e-geo.ch

Das Programm e-geo.ch schafft mit dem Aufbau einer Nationalen Geodaten-Infrastruktur einen leichten und preiswerten Zugang zu einem optimalen Angebot an Geoinformationen.

Web Map Service WMS

Ein Web Map Service (WMS) ist eine Schnittstelle zum Abrufen von Auszügen aus Karten über das Internet.

Catalog Service for Web CSW

CSW ist ein Standard des Open Geospatial Consortium zur Spezifizierung von Such- und Katalogdiensten über das Web. Die Metadaten aus geocat.ch können über eine CSW-Schnittstelle abgefragt werden.

Kontakt: geo.admin.ch
Seite drucken | Fenster schliessen